Chapter 4 …

Let's hope he's wearing sunscreen ...

Last week’s chapter found Jimmy obsessed with figuring out whether Jeff was a homo. Eventually he learned the answer to that question; and then, to his surprise and delight, he was able to persuade Jeff to do what he had only been fantasizing about up until then.

Chapter 3 marked the end of Part I of our story. I could have written at least several more chapters for Part I that would have allowed me to develop some of the other characters in the story much better.

In particular, I could have had a lot more to say about Jeff and Kevin as well as the reasons they dislike one another. I could have also had more to say about Jimmy and Tommy’s friendship and how that factored into what happened in Part I.

And, of course, I could have also written a lot more about what happened between Jimmy and Jeff that summer after that initial incident in the school. In the end, however, I felt that would be gratuitous. As it was, it was hard enough to write as much as I did.

I did try to write that last chapter carefully, but even now I’m not entirely satisfied with it. One reader has already suggested Jimmy comes across as much more sophisticated in the art of seduction than I wanted to portray him.

And I’m still not satisfied I got Jimmy’s reaction to what happened in the teacher’s lounge exactly right. I wanted to portray Jimmy’s excitement about what happened without actually portraying what happened. But Jimmy wasn’t equally excited about everything that happened and I’m not sure I captured that very well.

Like they say, it is what it is and everyone will have to decide for themselves whether the chapter succeeded or failed. Whatever the case may be, it wasn’t because I wasn’t aware of how sensitive the subject matter was. A better writer would have written it better, but I felt it had to be written for the story as a whole to work.

You can decide for yourself whether that’s the case once we reach the end of the story many months down the road. For now, we turn to Part II. If Part I left you unhappy, you should probably stop reading now.

Part II takes place late in 1974 and early 1975. Jimmy has just turned eighteen and recently graduated from high school. We’ll learn a bit about his high school years and what’s become of Jimmy; and then we’ll follow what happens to him over the course of the next several months.

Chapter 4 is up and I hope you enjoy it. Please be aware, however, that I may have to abandon or close down my WordPress sites very soon. I’m having major problems uploading files to the sites and have had to spend hours finding temporary fixes this past week.

I don’t know what the problem is exactly and it was only after spending far too much time and energy that I was able to get the pdf version of this chapter uploaded tonight. However, the solution I used is not a viable one for the long term.

As I said, unless things change, I’m probably going to throw in the towel. I simply cannot afford to invest any more time and effort in managing these sites than I already do. I spend far too much time already and it simply isn’t worth the hassle anymore.

I apologize for any inconvenience if that happens.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 4 …

  1. If more sex scenes between Jimmy and Jeff would be gratuitous … Then all I can do is quote the notice seen in many a fine restaurant … “Your gratuity is gratefully accepted”

    Can’t wait to find out what happens next.

    1. I’m a realist about these things, Tim, but I generally don’t think having sex is a good thing for a fourteen year old boy (as Jimmy was in Part I) – or for a fourteen year old girl for that matter either. It can have effects on their sexual, emotional and psychological development that may not be entirely healthy or good, at least in my opinion.

      Because it isn’t something I would encourage, I felt showing more of what happened that summer would send the wrong message. But more did happen, of course, and that’s important to keep in mind if you want to better understand how the story plays out.

      Part of the problem with skipping forward in time like I’ve done in this story is that you then have to spend some time setting the stage again. Chapters 4 and 5 are intended to do that, which I realize can be somewhat frustrating for readers.

Leave a Reply

