Homo!

There are two ways to be fooled.  One is to believe what isn't true; the other is to refuse to believe what is true.  Søren Kierkegaard
There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn’t true; the other is to refuse to believe what is true. Søren Kierkegaard

Tonight we begin a new story, one I’m calling Homo! It begins in 1971 and ends more than a decade later.

To appreciate the story it’s important to understand how different things were in the nineteen-seventies, especially public attitudes toward homosexuality. One way to get a more realistic feel for that is by reading this post and viewing this 1961 YouTube film and/or this 1973 remake, which uses the same audio track but different actors.

While hard to believe, these public service announcements capture the mood of the times very well and should prove useful in helping you better understand why some of the characters in this story behave as they do.

Although it may seem familiar in some ways, at least initially, Homo! is different from my other stories. You’ll have to take my word for that now because explaining how it’s different would give away too much.

Unlike some of my more recent stories, Homo! is also a more sexual story. If you find reading such stories difficult, this may not be the best one for you. I also apologize in advance if you find yourself offended by some of what takes place. I understand where you’re coming from, but the story begins almost a half century ago when attitudes about many things were different than today.

That doesn’t mean those attitudes were right and some may feel I do a disservice to the gay community by writing about such things. All I can say is that the choices I made were ones I felt necessary for the story to have any credibility.

If you stick with it, I think you’ll find it a very good story, one that is deeply moving and well worth the time and effort you invest. But that’s just my opinion, of course. The only way you’ll find out for sure is by reading the story yourself.

As you can see, I’ll be posting chapters for this story on Friday evenings between now and the end of the year. It’s not really an experiment or an effort to confuse you. I just wanted to avoid all the Monday holidays so I could have a little fun myself on those three day weekends.

I’d also like to acknowledge the help and assistance of Steve from New Zealand. He read the first seven chapters of the story and provided his own candid take on them. Those chapters have changed some since he read them so by no means is he responsible for their content.

If you find them upsetting, the blame is entirely mine.

I haven’t heard from Steve in a while so I hope he’s okay. In any event, Chapter 1 is up. Have fun reading and feel free to let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

