Chapter 3 …

a lovely view indeed :-)

That image above is of a sculpture that that can be found in the Winthrop House courtyard. If you could get in, of course, which I suspect you can’t because of the ongoing renovation taking place there.

Indeed, for all I know, the sculpture may have disappeared as part of that process; and that would be appropriate too, I suppose, as I doubt it was there in 1973 when our story takes place. But I don’t know any of this for sure, of course, so I decided to use the image nonetheless given all the uncertainty.

To me it seems to best reflect the underlying theme of this week’s chapter; i.e., just how open can you be if you’re a homosexual in 1973?

As you’ll find out soon enough, there’s definitely a lot going on in tonight’s chapter; so much so that I could have almost certainly gotten two or more chapters out of material I’ve squeezed into one. But I have no interest in drawing this story out so one chapter is all you’ll get 😀

The result is a chapter that may seem to jump from point to point much too quickly and I’ll understand if you find that confusing. But the various points seem connected to me and help set the stage for what’s to come.

To recap, we’ve met two of our story’s main characters, Lane and Paul, and a number of others as well. We know that Lane is a doctoral student in history at Harvard who is about to graduate and that’s where this chapter begins. We also know that he has a crush on Paul, but seems conflicted about that.

That’s another thing we’ll find out more about in this chapter although we already know Lane has mixed feelings about his homosexuality. Still, when push came to shove last week, he did step up and defend another student who was ridiculed by one’s of Paul’s roommates for being homosexual; whether correctly or not we don’t know.

His defense was pretty much an intellectual one, of course. Lane didn’t come right out and admit he was a homosexual himself and resented Anderson’s comments. That’s probably not surprising given the year, 1973, and given that Lane tends to see things in intellectual terms; which is also probably another way of saying he keeps a tight grip on his emotions.

All of that will be in play this week as well; and we’ll also get a closer look at Paul too. We still don’t know a lot about him, but perhaps that will begin to change with this week’s chapter. Or not; you’ll have to read on to find out 😀

Whatever the case may be, Chapter 3 is up. Have fun reading; and feel free to let me know what you think if you’re so inclined. I always get new insights into my characters when I see how other people react to them and sometimes that even influences the remaining chapters.

By the way, I would encourage you to pay special attention to next week’s introduction to Chapter 4. You’ll find out a lot you may not have known about homosexuality at Harvard.

Leave a Reply

