Chapter 1 …

Winthrop House

Tonight we begin a new story, one I’m calling First Love, First Time. If you’re wondering what the story is about, it’s about the first person we fell in love with as well as the first person we ever had sex with.

For some of us they may have been one and the same person, hopefully someone very special indeed. But for others our first love and first time may have been two entirely different people.

So there you have it, the first mystery about our new story. Will they be one person or two for our protagonist, Lane Bailey? Or is it possible Lane may remain a virgin at the end of our tale, still waiting for his first experiences with love and/or sex?

I could tell you, of course, but what fun would that be? You’ll just have to wait and see how the story turns out 😀

First Love, First Time is not just about one character’s first love and first time, however. Set in 1973, it’s about other things as well, including the struggles some gay men went through back then accepting themselves as homosexual.

Not that such struggles don’t still go on today; they do. But the stakes for men back in the 1970s were much higher in many ways; the stigma associated with being homosexual much stronger. And that’s why I think this story fits well as part of The Liberation Anthology.

Not to put too much pressure on myself, but I like this story. I like it a lot! Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, of course, and you may disagree, but I think this may be one of my best stories ever even though it’s also one of my shortest, at least at the moment. As mentioned, however, that could change if that’s what you want.

Before we begin I should probably provide a little background about how this story came to be. For a long time I considered calling it Resurrection because some of the characters and themes in this story were originally intended to be part of The Opened Door.

As you’ll recall me mentioning on more than one occasion, I struggled with The Opened Door. At some point, having realized that story had become overly complex and dense, I decided I needed to simplify things.

As part that effort, I cut out a lot of material and characters and just abandoned them. Later, realizing I wanted to start the longer, more explicitly sexual, story I was working on for 2016 in May of this year, I worried I would lose some of you as readers if I made you wait that long to come back.

Rummaging around in all the writing I’ve abandoned over the years, I came across this material again and decided to try refashioning it by pushing the story back to the 1970s and reworking it in a way that would justify the title I eventually chose, First Love, First Time.

So tonight we’ll begin to find out whether the characters and material in this story should have stayed abandoned entirely 😀

In case you were wondering, that image above is of Winthrop House and you’ll get a much better view by clicking the image to enlarge it. Winthrop is one of twelve undergraduate houses at Harvard where most upperclassmen (sophomore, juniors and seniors) live.

By the way, none of those houses is in Harvard Yard, which was our geographic focus in The Opened Door, but it’s definitely worthwhile getting to know more about the house system at Harvard.

This Wikipedia article provides an overview, but there are other articles here and here that are worth looking at if you’re interested in learning more.

Winthrop, which is one of the nine so-called river houses to the south of the Yard, will be one of our primary geographic points of interest in this story. Its most prominent resident is probably former President John F. Kennedy (his brothers Bobby and Ted lived there as well).

Harvard has been renovating all of the houses in recent years and this year Winthrop House will be undergoing a major renovation. Among other things, that means its students will be housed elsewhere until the renovation is completed.

So take a good look at that picture above because the house will definitely look different once the overhaul is complete. It won’t look entirely different, of course; mostly it will just look bigger.

Enough for now! As I mentioned above, I like this story even more than The Opened Door. That doesn’t mean you have to, but I’ll be comfortable with the story no matter what your view of it is.

It’ll start a bit slowly, but I think it will draw you in if you stick with it; and if you do stick with it I hope you’ll end up loving it as much as I do.

In any event, Chapter 1 is up (look for it under The Liberation Apology up above). Have fun reading and be sure to let me know if you have any questions about the story or anything in this post.

One thought on “Chapter 1 …

Leave a Reply

