We’re Mobile Friendly …

Likes to live dangerously and doesn't care what you think :-)

Well here it is Christmas morning and all the toys have been unwrapped at last. I didn’t get everything I wanted, but I got more than I deserved 😀

Merry Christmas everyone!

So now we have to fill up the rest of the day and here I am with my default activity when I have nothing better to do. I’ve told you before that I’m not much of a blogger and that point was driven home to me recently when I discovered some settings buried deep within the recesses of the WordPress dashboard.

But perhaps a few words of background will help you better understand what I’m talking about.

It’s hard to believe, but I actually first opened this site back in June 2011. Here’s a link to what I think was my very first post.

Back then everything on WordPress seemed new and difficult, but from the very beginning I did everything on my desktop computer. Whether writing a chapter for one of my stories or a post for one of my sites, it was always just easier to use a computer with a large monitor and a separate keyboard that could stand up to the pounding I give it.

I’m still using the same computer and monitor by the way. Not surprisingly, I suppose, I tried to design my web sites in a way that would look good on that large monitor. I’ve used a variety of themes and added different menus, widgets and gadgets to the sites over the years, but the reason for the blog has never changed.

I love writing! And I needed a place to post the stories I wrote.

But I happened to be reading a story about a week or ten days ago about how up to fifty percent of people access the internet through a tablet or smartphone, not a desktop computer. I don’t know whether that’s true, but it’s a pretty astonishing figure and made me wonder how my sites looked on those devices.

I had used an iPad to view the site over the years and it looked fine, but I had never used a smartphone. The truth is I’m kind of like Sean rather than Holden when it comes to phones. I own an older (hence cheaper) Android Tracfone, one where I have to keep track of my data usage, messages, and minutes.

That being the case, I had never actually tried to access these sites on my phone.

So now you know I’m not especially well-off financially, which is okay. It doesn’t bother me. But when I did finally get around to looking at my sites on the phone, I wasn’t entirely pleased. It turns out that the new theme I’m using at The Annex is actually mobile-friendly, but the old theme I use at the Café wasn’t.

To make a long story short, I went searching and found that WordPress does have settings that help in this regard. They were turned off by default, but I’ve turned them on and now both sites look much better on a phone.

To enhance the experience even more, I’m planning to go back and add links at the end of each chapter in the rest of my stories like I’ve already done with two of them. That will make it easier to move from one chapter to the next. So there’s some encouragement right there to go back and read all of my stories again!

I’m not sure what I’ll do with new stories. I can’t link you to a chapter that hasn’t been posted already so I’ll have to go back and add links to the older chapters after I’ve posted a new one.

Whether I’ll do that immediately or wait until I’ve finished a story completely remains to be seen, but feel free to weigh in on that by leaving a comment.

I still believe this site looks better when viewed on the larger monitors that typically come with desktop computers. But if you’re in a pinch and have to use a phone, you’ll find reading chapters or posts a lot easier now; and you’ll also find moving around both sites on a smartphone easier now as well using the menus.

You’ll have to scroll all the way down to get to the galleries though. But, hey, that will be good for your thumb 😀

By the way, you should definitely visit the other one of my sites as I have a different picture of that boy with his cellphone living dangerously up above. I love both of those pics.

None of this is money in the bank, of course, but it’s something.

I’m off now to visit some friends and see what toys Santa brought them. I apologize for interrupting your holiday with my compulsion, but I hope the rest of your Christmas is festive and merry 😀

2 thoughts on “We’re Mobile Friendly …

  1. Kit, your compulsion is your readers’ gain. Thanks for making the sites more user-friendly.

    It looks like you may be in for a winter blast this week. Stay warm and cozy.

    1. Thanks, Dean. I’ve been making a lot of small changes at both sites in an effort to enhance the experience. There are a lot of trade-offs involved. I hadn’t planned to switch the theme at the main site, for example, but it works much better on smartphones if I use a mobile friendly theme. So I made the change. I’ve also been adding new resources and links for younger readers who may need some help; and I’ve made it easier to move from chapter to chapter for all the stories now.

      It is a compulsion, but I want the site to look good on all the different devices people use to access it. But I need to get back to some writing. I have an idea for a new story, but I need to stop fiddling around here and start writing instead.

Leave a Reply

