Change is good, dollars are better

says the GOP candidate for President :-)

August 17, 2015 Update 3: I need to get ready for later this evening so I won’t say very much here. The second theme I tried over at the Café had problems as well, particularly trouble showing links and that annoying sidebar that faded in or out depending on where your mouse was placed. Keep your fingers crossed, but I think this may be the one 🙂

August 16, 2015 Update: It looks like the new theme over at the Café may have a problem displaying comments easily. I know it’s possible to comment because I’ve had one already and responded to it. And it looks like you can read the comments if you click on the title of the post and open it up as a separate page. But to me that’s kind of clumsy because there’s no way of knowing whether someone has commented in the first place (like that little bubble you can see up above). I’ll have to check into this more to see if I can figure it out. Stay tuned.

August 15, 2015, Original Post

I’ve been thinking about changing the WordPress theme for my sites for a little while now, partly because it would help next year when I hope to bring at least one or two new stories online. And then there was that last minute change in plans that leaves me at home this weekend. As you can see, I’m bored at the moment 🙂

To avoid making this too big a shock, I’ve implemented the redesign on the main part of this blog initially. Some of you may not care one way or the other, but I think this new theme provides a cleaner look. And that’s probably a good thing on a site featuring naughty stories, don’t you think?

In any event, feel free to take a look at the redesigned Café Palermo. Then let me know what you think by posting a comment or sending me an e-mail. To make the comparison easier, I’ve retained the old theme for the moment on The Annex. That way you can check back and forth to see what you think and render a better judgment.

I’m not saying you’ll have the final word on this as readers. But I would be quite interested in your opinion and any problems you find with the redesigned site. As I said, feel free to leave a comment or to send me an e-mail.

And have a nice weekend as well. I’m still holding out hope for my own 🙂

2 thoughts on “Change is good, dollars are better

  1. I like the new look. I’ve always wondered what the scrufty previous background was all about. Was it a bathroom stall? A prison cell? (I’d insert a smiley here to soften that comment if I could.)

    1. I’m tempted to insert that smiley for you, Merkin, but that might cause more questions than answers. Some people might wonder whether you had been drinking when you posted 🙂

      No, seriously, I loved your comment. You should go back and read Chapter 31 of Connected for an answer 🙂

      I’m not sure the new look will work though. If you’ve read the update to my post, you’ll see why. Using the current theme people can see whether someone has commented; how many have done so; and easily access the comments and my responses by just clicking on the bubble above.

      That doesn’t seem to be the case in the new theme. I’ll have to see if I can figure it out; or perhaps try another new theme.

      I’m easy 🙂

Leave a Reply

