My Valentine . . .

with love from kit

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

I’m back, at least for today; and what better day to put in an appearance than St. Valentine’s Day. If nothing else, I want to encourage everyone to be sweet to their sweetie today; and if you don’t have a sweetie to be sweet to, feel free to be sweet to me by sending me a Valentine’s Day message.

It’d be nice to hear from some of my old friends and to make some new ones as well. So feel free to whisper sweet nothings to me by using the Send me mail link over there to your left and down below 🙂

But my main reason for posting today is to let you know I’ve been working on a new story I may share with you later this year; assuming it’s good enough, of course. I’m actually working on two new stories, but one of them is way too ambitious and will probably never see the light of day, at least as originally conceived.

But it’s definitely hot, no doubt about it!

The other story, the one I’m actually thinking of posting, is a love story, but one without very much sex; and if I’m being perfectly honest, it’s not really a new story at all. It’s an old story I abandoned more than a year ago because I was having problems making it work.

Although shorter than Connected and Summer Boys, Summer Dreams, there’s a lot going on in the story. I was having trouble keeping all the balls in the air and bringing them to a successful resolution.

Recently I decided to take another look and decided there were just too many characters I loved to abandon the story entirely. Setting to work, I tried to see whether I could solve some of the problems and I think I have, at least to some degree. I’m hoping I’ll be able to whip it into shape for publication sometime later this year.

Didn’t know I was into whips, did you?

Kit giggles.

Just kidding, people; I’m not into pain myself, at least not too much. I prefer teetering on the precipice between pain and pleasure, sometimes leaning one way, sometimes the other. And that’s kind of how I feel about this new story right now.

Sometimes I think it’s worth sharing with you; other times I’m less certain of that. That’s the problem with being as close to the story as I am. I’m not a very good judge of its merits.

By now you may be wondering what the story’s about. I wish I had a simple answer for you, but I don’t. For now let’s just say it’s about dreams, hopes and fears; about being poor and being privileged and how things like that shape our choices in life.

It’s also about working for a living and going to school, selfishness and altruism, families large and small, and friends true and false.

But mostly it’s about being young and gay and falling in love for the very first time; and then finding the courage to risk everything by revealing yourself to the person you love without knowing how things will turn out.

The question for me is whether anyone is still out there who cares one way or the other about a story like that? If there is, feel free to let me know, either by posting a comment below or sending me an e-mail; and if you’re still out there and have any questions about the story, feel free to share those as well.

I’ll collect any questions you have and do my best to answer them if I can do that without giving away too much; and if there’s no one out there and no questions to be answered, I’ll just slink away again and go back into hibernation. I’ve got plenty to keep myself busy 🙂

You can look for another post from me by March 1 at the latest. In the meantime, have a Happy Valentine’s Day and be sure to remind the people you love that your love for them is the thing you cherish the most.

Say it in words, of course, but show it in deeds as well.

Need a hint?

I’ve posted a clue below 🙂

sexy feet

8 thoughts on “My Valentine . . .

  1. Happy Valentines Day to you Kit. I’d give you a kiss, but you are too far away.

    Go for the story. All of your stories have been terrific in the past.

    In the picture (hint) which are you?????

    1. You can always blow me a kiss, Tom. Given the powerful winds keeping me in this evening, it should get here pretty quickly.

      As for the hint (picture), I’m whichever one you want me to be 🙂

      Kit

  2. Nice to hear from you again, after all those months. Let me tell you this. Once when I was a young boy a grocery man said to me: you also can be too modest. Since then I’ve been keeping that in my mind. And I’m saying that now to you. I like your writing and I’m pretty sure that I’ll like your new story as much as I’ve liked Connected and Summer Dreams. So please, have a little faith in yourself.

    Bye

    Dick

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Dick.

      I don’t think I lack faith. It’s just that some stories come easily for me while others seem a lot harder for whatever reason.

      But I keep writing so I guess that’s a plus.

      Kit

  3. The news that a new story is coming is a wonderful Valentine. You put so much of yourself into each of your stories, and the writing reflects the care you take and the love you have for your characters. I’m looking forward to it.

    1. Oh, jeez, don’t up the pressure on me or anything, Merkin 🙂

      I like it, at least parts of it, but how good the story ends up remains to be seen.

      But I do appreciate the encouragement and support. Although not many people actually saw this posting, the ones who did and responded make me feel like I really should try to whip it into shape.

      And speaking of whips, Merkin 🙂

      Kit slaps himself.

  4. It may take me a bit of time to get back to you, but here I am! I have really enjoyed your stories and I look forward to your next one whatever it may be. All the best and I am sure that there are more of us than your know about. Take care.

    Captdave

    1. So there you are, Captain? I’ve been wondering when you’d sail into port 🙂

      And thanks for the encouragement and support. I’m working my way through the story right now, but I still have a ways to go before making any decision.

      But keep your eyes open and your ear to the ground; I’m still looking to make some kind of decision by the end of the month.

      Kit

Leave a Reply

