Posting Schedule

sweet dreams

Like I mentioned previously, I’m going to be at the beach for much of this month. Usually I like to disconnect from the internet and all the other countless devices we’ve come to rely on so I can just enjoy being with friends. I should have thought about this sooner, but I didn’t; so now I’m trying to figure out what effect, if any, this will have on the story.

I think we’re just going to have to take it from week to week and see what happens. I’ve been busting my buns all week and I think I’m satisfied enough with the next chapter to post it this coming Monday. I’ve just taken one final look at it and scheduled it to go online at the usual time in the usual place. Hopefully there won’t be a problem. But having screwed up before, I can’t promise there won’t be.

If the chapter doesn’t show up online late Monday evening for some reason, don’t get your panties all in a bunch. I’ll post it when I get back next weekend; and even though I’m away, I hope you’ll feel free to provide any comments you have or to send me an e-mail. I won’t be able to post comments or respond to anyone until I get back, but you can be sure I will when I do.

Finally, let me just say this has been a terrible week for baseball here in the United States and not just because of the cheaters like Ryan Braun (although they’re definitely a big part of the problem). But the way Major League Baseball (MLB) and Bud Selig, its Commissioner, have managed this drug scandal also reeks to high heavens.

Character assassination via leaks to the media is never a pretty sight. If Major League Baseball has compelling evidence against some of its players, it should have put it out there a lot sooner and let people decide for themselves. Instead, it looks like MLB is trying to get everyone to plea bargain so it can sweep things under the rug and try to put the whole thing behind us as quickly as possible.

I may have more to say about this later, but for now I’ll say this. Bud Selig and his fellow owners have not exactly redeemed themselves with honor over the years when it comes to performance enhancing drugs (PEDs). They were only too happy to look the other way when Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa were filling the stands with their home run competition; when Barry Bonds was chasing the single season and career home run titles.

They looked the other way for too many years; and even now, in their treatment of Alex Rodriguez, a player it’s almost impossible to sympathize with, it looks like Selig has more than one agenda. To me he seems to be doing just about everything he can to help the New York Yankees escape the consequences of their bad decision to sign Rodriguez to a ridiculous contract, one with too many years and too much money to make any sense.

If Selig gets away with banning Rodriguez for life (and thus essentially voiding his contract) or even comes up with a penalty that’s somewhat less harsh (but still far more than that imposed on the other players), the Yankees will benefit financially; greatly benefit. And if that happens, they’ll be in a position to go back to doing what they’ve always done in the past; to buy the best team money can buy and make a mockery of honest competition.

But what else is new? In baseball, as elsewhere, money talks and bullshit walks.

Selig can feed us whatever bullshit he wants; but it isn’t baseball that will benefit primarily from what he does. It will be the Yankees; at least that’s the way it looks to me at the moment. I hope I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

