Update: July 29

traditional but not recommended :-)

July 29 update: I’ve posted Chapter 12. It’s a long one and be sure to check the notes in the header for the spoiler alert before starting it.

I’ve been planning to take some time off in August to get down to the beach; and now suddenly I’ve discovered August is almost upon us. I’m going to have to do some thinking about how to proceed with the story at this point because I usually like to disconnect entirely from the internet when I’m on vacation and trying to have a real life.

The main issue is whether I can get one or two chapters done in advance, which will be kind of a stretch; or whether I should simply hold off posting at all for a week or two. I don’t think that’s fair to you, but the next two chapters after this one are a little different and I want to be sure I’m reasonably satisfied with them. They’re never going to be perfect, but they have to be good enough.

I’ll get back to you on this later this week after I’ve had some time to think about things and see where I’m at. You should definitely check back for an update sometime on Friday evening or Saturday morning to get the latest. Otherwise just wait until next Monday and see if I’ve gotten around to posting another chapter.

In the meantime, have fun reading Chapter 12 and be sure to let me know what you think. I always appreciate hearing from you, but it will be even more interesting than usual to see what kind of responses I get, if any, to this week’s chapter 🙂

June 24 Original Posting

Here’s a little music video I stumbled across while doing research for this story. I was going to include the link within Chapter 7, but figured some of you would pass it by. That would be a shame because it’s just too good to miss, at least I think so. Worthwhile for anyone, including those who know little about baseball, it captures some of the pure joy of the game and how much fun it can be, especially when you’re young and just starting to play.

The video is set to a traditional tune, Take Me Out to the Ballgame, that’s often played during the seventh inning stretch, another baseball tradition.

And that picture up there at the top? That’s Sailor Jack and his dog Bingo, the Cracker Jack mascots. Cracker Jack, a molasses-flavored candy-coated mix of popcorn and peanuts, is probably one of the very first junk foods and has traditionally been associated with baseball. You can learn more here, but personally I would be cautious about trying the stuff 🙂

In any event, Chapter 7 is up. I’ll be away and disconnected most of Tuesday and Wednesday so there may be a delay in posting comments or responding to e-mails. But don’t let that stop you from letting me know what you think. I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

In the meantime, have fun reading. I hope you enjoy Chapter 7 and be sure to take a look at the video as well.

Leave a Reply

