Summer Boys, Summer Dreams – II

in baseball, as with sex, it's better to be safe :-)

Chapter 6 is up and with its publication we now begin Part II of the story. It will be told from Ethan’s perspective and will follow the first year of his minor league career. More attention will be focused on the first couple of months, but the later chapters will provide a glimpse of some of the pressures beginning to build on Ethan – and that will keep building the longer he plays the game. We’ll meet some interesting new characters along the way.

If you’re old enough to do so, try to think back to the initial year of your first full-time job – or even your first year of high school or college. For most people it’s a confusing time. It’s hard enough trying to learn how to do the work itself, but on top of that you have all the pressures that come with trying to fit in with your co-workers (or fellow students) while finding time to have a personal life.

Think how hard that must be for someone who is eighteen years old and has a job where success and failure are all too visible on the playing field. In truth, this is a challenging time for Ethan as he tries to fit in and prove he has the right stuff to himself, teammates, coaches and fans. Trying to capture that isn’t easy, but I’ll do the best I can.

I would like to thank David Lee for letting some of his readers know about this story. David’s a friend and a terrific writer and I encourage you to look at some of his stories. The Metamorphosis of Jeremiah Long is his current one. Tommy and Tanner is a personal favorite – and even longer than my stories if you can believe it 🙂

If you’re reading this story because of David’s recommendation, welcome. I hope you enjoy it and will let me know what you think either by posting a comment at the end of a chapter or by sending me an e-mail. By the way, comments are moderated so they may not go up for 24 hours. You’ll need to provide at least a first name and a valid e-mail address although your e-mail address will not be published.

Since some of you may not have seen my previous thank you, I also want to again thank my editor, Tom, for all his help and support. He’s now made it all the way through my current draft of the story and it’s a better story for his efforts. But since I keep laboring even after he’s gone through it, he’s not responsible for any mistakes you may catch.

Finally, I also want to provide a shout out to any of my previous readers who’ve just learned about this story from the mailing I sent out. Welcome back and don’t be shy about letting me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

