Opening night draws near

We open with Chapter 1 on Monday, May 13, 2013 :-)

As promised in my blog posting last Wednesday, I’ve now posted the synopsis for Summer Boys, Summer Dreams. You can click on the link to view it; alternatively, you can access it via the drop-down menu at the top of this page or scroll down and reach it by clicking on the link to your left.

Before you do so, however, I want to say a special word of thanks to Tom H. for reading the story, correcting many errors, and for making a lot of helpful suggestions. He’s been doing this for a while now for me, but I think this story has posed a special challenge since Tom is not American and thus not as familiar with baseball as some of the rest of you.

In spite of that, he’s persevered and the story is better because he has. I’m constantly astonished by his attention to detail. I like to think I’m a pretty good editor myself, but the stuff he catches is pretty amazing. I’ve said it before, but it’s worth repeating. Tom is a big help, a good counselor, and a terrific source of support. Most importantly, he’s a friend who keeps me moving forward whenever I run into problems (and that happens more than you might imagine). Without his support and encouragement, I’m not sure where I would be.

You may still find some mistakes as I post each chapter. Please feel free to point them out to me if you do so I can correct them. But don’t hold Tom responsible for those. The truth is I keep rewriting and editing the chapters even after he returns them to me with his corrections so the blame rests with me.

At the moment, Summer Boys, Summer Dreams consists of fifty-two chapters spread over five parts. There will probably be an epilogue as well. As we move forward, I may try to scale the story back some. Whether I’ll succeed remains to be seen. If I don’t, I expect to be posting one chapter a week for the next year or so every Monday evening.

I hope the story will hold your attention and I look forward to seeing you back here next Monday evening.

I think you’ll like Chapter 1.

thanks Tom :-)

Leave a Reply

