Chapter 10

Stop HIV/AIDS!

Chapter 10 is up, at least I hope it is. The truth is I’m out of town this weekend with friends so I have no idea whether the chapter has been posted. But I did schedule it to be published at the usual time Friday evening and I hope that it’s up and available to you. If not, check back Sunday evening.

In reading this chapter, keep in mind the story is set primarily in the 1980s when HIV/AIDS first burst on the scene. We know Eric contracted the virus before anyone knew it even existed and died of AIDS in the mid-1980s. That is the backdrop for what’s happening now in the late 1980s. Young male hustlers like Vinnie and Jimmy are having trouble making a living because people are being a lot more sexually cautious. Bars like the Cafe Palermo that cater to them and their customers are having trouble surviving as well. And while Brian hasn’t been sexually active for years, he lives in a community where the virus is epidemic, he’s gay and he keeps up with news, if only casually.

In any event, have fun reading and let me know what you think. You can share any comments at the end of the chapter or by sending me an e-mail. Being out of town, I won’t get around to posting and responding to them until Sunday at the earliest. But I do like hearing from people and I’ll be interested to see what people think of this chapter.

know the facts

Leave a Reply

